top of page

Visualizing US Statehoods

With the 4th of July coming up, I thought it would be interesting to visualize when each state that is now part of the US officially became a state. It's interesting to note that West Virginia is purple, meaning it became a state much later than the other states in the east. This is because Virginia split into two as a result of the Civil War. In the bright red, you can see the original 13 colonies(New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Georgia).

6 views0 comments


bottom of page